The Home Away From Home

Dearest Readers,

Let me start off by introducing myself: my name is Michelle Goyke and I am the blogger for the Williams-Mystic Class of Fall ’14. Only five weeks into the semester, I can confidently say that I have already witnessed how life-changing the Williams-Mystic Program can be.

Currently, I am a Communication Arts major at The College of New Rochelle located in my hometown, New Rochelle, NY. Only a 5 minute commute away from home, the College of New Rochelle has provided me with both great convenience and opportunities. One such opportunity was the chance to attend Williams-Mystic.

First Night
My first night in Mystic

After living in the same city for 20 years, the idea of packing up and moving to a new city and state was both nerve-wracking and exciting. Although I am a junior in college, I felt like a freshman leaving the comforts of home for the first time. Upon my arrival to Mystic, I was in complete awe as I admired all of the exciting sites the village has to offer. As I began to move in my belongings and got to met my housemates, I was thrilled that we connected instantly. From kayaking trips to pancake breakfasts, everlasting memories are being made on a daily basis. There were so many positive vibes being exchanged that my transition came with great ease and within one week, Mystic, CT became my home.

Kayaking
My housemate, Anika, fellow classmate Andrew, and I kayaking in the estuary

Thus far, Williams-Mystic has offered quite a unique academic experience. This semester, I am gaining an interdisciplinary perspective by studying various topics, such as the regulation and management of coastal waters in Marine Policy, erosion and sedimentation in Oceanographic Processes, and Mystic’s role in the American fishing industry in Maritime History. In Maritime Literature, I get to deeply immerse myself in readings that I can relate to my modern-day experiences as I travel to the same areas that the authors base their stories. I have found the way we connect literature and scientific findings to hands-on learning and real-life experiences to be such a fascinating and engaging way to learn. This allows me to deeply relate and connect the experiences I have with the information I am receiving. My favorite part about our hands-on learning is how often we have a traveling classroom: one class may take place on the Charles W. Morgan and the next may be a plane ride away. How many people can say that they have had class on a dock at the Mystic Seaport, at Barn Island Marsh in their foulies, or aboard a tall ship in the Pacific Ocean? Not many.

Fair Winds and Smooth Sailing,

Michelle

Author: williamsmystic

A one semester interdisciplinary ocean and coastal studies program integrating marine science, maritime history, environmental policy, and literature of the sea.

Leave a Reply

